How to get free stuff for your home!

Being an adult is hard–being a parent is harder. Sometimes no matter how much we prepare for life, something unexpected happens. Money? Oh, boy! Money seems to leave your hands as quick as it reaches it.

I just recently moved into a new apartment. Unfortunately, do to certain circumstances, I wasn’t able to buy living room or dining room furniture. Luckly, my girls are good and taken care of…THANK GOD.

So I thought to myself how am I going to get furniture when I have no money to do it? I considered buying used stuff from people online but even that was too much. So many people want to charged the same price they bought their furniture for. If that’s the case, you’re better off buying straight from the store!

I wondered if anyone was giving stuff away for free. Then it hit me. Craig’s List! For any of you that don’t know or never needed to know, Craig’s List has a section where people just give away free stuff. Some are all banged up and others are in wonderful condition. I got my sofa, couch, and ottoman set FREE a week ago. The set is one-year-old and the man that gave it to me also gave me a 1-year-old Ikea queen bed frame that he never used. He was upgrading his furniture so he just wanted to give away the old stuff. He definitely wasn’t in need of the extra cash he would make if he sold them.

As much people want to sell their things for some money, there is equally the same amount of people that just want to get rid of stuff and don’t care amount making money. They were going to throw it away but didn’t want it in a landfil or didn’t want to do the heavy lifting and take it out their home. They get people like me, who might really need it, to take it for  nothing but the satisfaction of it going to a good home and them not having to break their backs to get it out the house.

Now, if you’re in a pinch, short on cash, or plain out broke, head over to your favorite search engine and type in craig’s list free stuff (insert city name.)  You should be able to find things from free plants to full bathroom vanity and sinks! Sometimes things are at curb side, so you won’t need to enter anyones home or even meet anyone.  They put up the adress or location of the items and you just swing by and take them. Easy, right? Also, people list stuff for $0 on Offer up. Sometimes it says 0 because the person wants you to make an offer so make sure it says FREE in the description. When you put in what you’re looking for make sure you set your max price at 0.

Just remember BE SAFE. Don’t enter anyone’s house if you don’t have to. Make sure you go with a friend or at the least tell people where you are going to meet up with someone.

I hope this helps someone out there who might need some help getting things for their home. Thanks to generous people, I was able to get chairs to sit on in my living room! Letting you guys know about what helped me out is my way of giving back. If you don’t need this, share the information on so that the right people will know about this. Don’t be ashamed to say you need a little extra help because there’re amazing people out there that go out of their way to assist others in such times. God bless! As always ((HUGS & LOVE))

Leave a Reply

